Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: Early American Imprints

About this Collection

This collection is now online as the Early American Imprints database.

Early American Imprints
Covers: 1639-1819. Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th,18th, and early 19th centuries. Provides complete digital editions, covering subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.

About: Reproductions of books, pamphlets, almanacs, scores, and other materials published in the United States between 1639 and 1819, based on the American Bibliography national bibliographies produced by Charles Evans and Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker. The set does not include periodicals or newspapers.
Location: Library Annex MP 810.8 and supplements
Format: Microcard - Opaque
Arrangement: The items are filed in the microcard boxes in the numerical sequence established in Evans and later in Shaw and Shoemaker's continutation.
Items: 31,000 + microcards
Publication: Readex, 1955-1970

American bibliography ; a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820 by Evans, Charles
Call Number: Library Annex ; Z1215 .E92

Publication Date: 1903-1959

In 14 v. with an index volume covering authors and titles
National index of American imprints through 1800 ; the short-title Evans by Shipton, Clifford Kenyon
Call Number: Library Annex ; Z1215 .S495

Publication Date: 1955-70

in 4 v.
American bibliography, a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemake
Call Number: Library Annex ; Z1215 .S48

Publication Date: 1966

Also on Hathitrust.
v. 1-19. Items 1-50192.--v. [20] Addenda, list of sources, library symbols.--v. [21] Title index.--v. [22] Corrections. Author index.--v. [23] Printers, publishers and booksellers index. Geographical index
Index of printers, publishers, and booksellers indicated by Charles Evans in his American bibliography by Bristol, Roger P.
Call Number: Library Annex ; Z1215 .E9233

Also available on Hathitrust.

Early American Imprints
Covers: 1639-1819. Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th,18th, and early 19th centuries. Provides complete digital editions, covering subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.

Many of these titles are in the public domain and can be found in HathiTrust, Google Books, or the Internet Archive.

HathiTrust
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version)
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
Google Books
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.