Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee) Papers, 1959-1972

New! Online Access!

The Libraries have recently added access to the ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2. This online archive includes digitized SNCC collections, as well as papers from the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).

ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
Covers: 1898-1996. The Organizational Records and Personal Papers collection is comprised of collections from federal government agencies and contain records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement. This module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and NAACP. Rounding out this module are the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records on Mississippi Freedom Summer.

About this Collection

SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee) Papers, 1959-1972

About: Provides documents produced by and correspondence to and from SNCC offices, including information on the Mississippi Summer Project of 1964, Voter Education Projects, Freedom Schools, field reports from various state offices (including Arkansas) sit-ins and other direct actions, and more.
Location: Library Annex LISA Microfilm ; E185.61 .S7854 1994
Format: microfilm
Arrangement: Arranged by office (Atlanta, New York, and Washington), then by series, with special sections of papers from William Kenney, Michael Porter, and from the SNCC newspaper, The Student Voice, which includes a run of the paper from 1960-65.
Items: 73 reels
Publication: University Microfilms (ProQuest), 1994.

Indexes and Guides

The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee papers, 1959-1972 : a guide to the microfilm edition.
There is a print copy in the library annex at call number Z1361.N39 S88

Online Options

ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
Covers: 1898-1996. The Organizational Records and Personal Papers collection is comprised of collections from federal government agencies and contain records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement. This module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and NAACP. Rounding out this module are the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records on Mississippi Freedom Summer.

SNCC Digital Gateway
This online exhibit tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change; includes photographs, timelines, and oral history interviews.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Resources
Covers: documents from 1800-. .Offering a range of primary source documents and images drawn from ProQuest historical collections, this database is organized in time periods from 19th century slavery and abolition struggle to Civil War and Reconstruction to Jim Crow, the modern civil rights era, and recent history. Intended to support high school and college students.

National Archives: The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
Describes SNCC-related collections and offers some links to digitized documents.
SNCC Legacy Project
Includes interviews, photographs, and some original documents.