Here are a few tips for working with multiple content types within a box.

Both Standard and Tabbed box types will have icons in edit mode showing you where one content element ends and where you can add another element.

After you have created your content blocks, you can reorder them.

Tip: If you are using h3 or h4 tags to separate content (good for you!) , you may have to create a lot of Rich Text / HTML blocks to hold those headers, then reorder them.

The text editor in LibGuides.

Styles

The styles button has some predefined options you might use--a typewriter font to show computer code,  inline quotation, and others.

Paragraph Styles

Here you will find H3, H4, and other headers.

Font Options

Use changes in font styles, colors, and sizes with care:

• Don't add font styles unless you absolutely need them. The site stylesheet takes care of the basic font settings.
• If copying and pasting from Word, use the special tool to strip Word formatting commands.
• Use H3, H4, H5, etc as the best method to show document subheadings in bold or larger type.
• Don't use color to denote emphasis. Screen reading software or those who have color blindness will not catch the emphasis.

Paste

Use these commands to copy and paste or to paste Word-formatted or unformatted text.

These buttons also contain the all important Undo command.

Text Styles

Use these commands to align or indent  text blocks, to create lists, or block quotes.

Links and Anchors

Add or remove hyperlinks or place an anchor in a document that can be linked to.

Insert

These commands allow you to insert an image, a table, a horizontal line, or a special character.

More detail about images on the Working with Images Page.

Spellcheck

You can turn toggle this on to check while you type. The check as you type only stays "on" while you are activiely editing that content block. You can also use the spellcheck tool to review the entire content block after you have finished working.

Full Screen

Use this tool for more screen real estate. Toggle off to go back to normal view.

Source Code

This is the replacement for the "Plain Text" button in v. 1. What is nice is that you can toggle back and forth without having first to save your work.

Use Source for pasting HTML code and scripts.

Shared Assets

 LibGuides treats links and databases as system-wide Assets. This makes them much easier to manage and to share.

• Databases
  Databases formerly listed on the A-Z Guide are now Database Assets.
  Please use these database-level resources; that leaves all the maintenance to us!
• Links
  Links can be created and reused by anyone. But please recycle!

1. Click the Add / Reuse Content button and choose Database.

2. A dialog box will open. Search for the resource you wish to add. You can also browse assets if you cannot find what you want by searching.
3. Add a custom description, if you wish.
   
4. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.

Shared Assets 

Links in LibGuides are treated as system-wide Assets. This makes them much easier to manage and to share.

• Databases
  Databases formerly listed on the A-Z Guide are now Database Assets.
  Please use these database-level resources; that leaves all the maintenance to us!
• Links
  Links can be created and reused by anyone. But please recycle!

Inserting a Link

1. Click the Add / Reuse Content button and choose Link.

1. A dialog box will open. You can choose to:
   1. add a new link
   2. reuse a link

To Reuse a Link (Preferred)

1. Choose the tab for Reuse Existing Link and search for the resource you wish to add.
2. If you wish to change the description, check the box for Make a copy... This will mean that your link is no longer, uh, linked to the original link you are copying.
   
3. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.

To Add a New Link

1. Complete the fields on the Create Link tab.
   • Link Name: Up to you
   • URL: Ensure that you use proxied links if the resource is a paid one.
   • Target: System default is to open in a new  window / tab
   • Proxy: please leave disabled
   • Description: no limit on characters but be concise
   • More Info: creates a mouseover info button
   • Guide Mappings: will appear if a link is reused elasewhere
   • Icon: Please follow these icon guidelines:
     • The Tower logo should designate UofA subscription / paid resources
     • The globe logo should designate resources open to all

2. Save. You can use the Add / Reorder tool to reorder databases, if you wish.

1. As with other assets, you can add a new book or reuse one already on the system.

2. To add a new book, simply type or paste in a 12- or 10-digit ISBN and click Get Book Info. (10-digit ISBNs are required to find Amazon content. )

If the system has metadata for your book, it will appear.

No metadata? You can still type that in manually and either link to a book jacket or use a default blue cover.

3. If you are listing a print book it is good practice to add the local call number for the students, including the branch location.

4. You may overwrite the description field with your own pointers and choose to display the description as a pop-up or under the book citation.

5. Clicking Enhanced Bowker Content will allow you to add publisher information and LC subject terms.

6. Click save and you are done. You can always go back and edit any fields.

Upload a new file or reuse one already on the system.

Replace files with newer versions by editing the item and then Clicking Select file to browse to and upload the new copy.

Media or Widget content blocks can contain an embed code for a video or other media, as well as scripts. In most cases, the code will contain an OBJECT, EMBED or SCRIPT tag.

Just as with links, images, or other assets, you can Add a new Media / Widget or reuse one that already exists on the system.

Want your media embed to be centered in the container box? You can open the Source editor and insert div tags around the embed code - example:

<div align="center">

<embed blah blah blah....>

</div>

What can go wrong with RSS Feeds?

• Feeds must be in valid XML and sometimes special characters can break them.
• If your feed is from a subscription resource, for example, an e-journal, links may not work fo roff-campus users. If you really, really, want to use it anyway, add a note such as:
  
  Article links may not work for off-campus users. Visit https://go.openathens.net/redirector/uark.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nature.com to read these articles.
• Because RSS feeds move and break, it is important to monitor them regularly.

Guide List assets allow you to quickly and easily create lists of other guides in your system. You can create lists of guides by subject, owner, or group, as well as custom lists of manually selected guides. For subject, owner, and group lists, these will update automatically as guides are added and removed from the corresponding subjects, owners, or groups.

Guide List Options 

• Manually Selected Guides: you will be able to select individual published guides to build a custom list.
• Guides in a Subject: you can select to display published guides assigned to a specific subject category.
• Guides by User: you can select to display published guides owned by a specific user.
• Guides by Group: you can choose to display published guides assigned to a specific Public or Restricted group.

Polls allow you to create (or reuse) multiple choice questions that can show the results in real time. These can be used for pre- and post-quizzes in a class or to get feedback on a guide.

Each question in a poll is a single content item. For multiple question polls, enter multple poll items. (like links or databases or books from the catalog).

This is a system-provided Google search box.

You can embed a LibAnswer FAQ directly into a guide.  

Maintain the content in one place; use it everywhere.

It's a beautiful thing.  

First, create a widget (or ask the admins to create on for you) on the LibAnswers site.  

A Widget can be:

• a list of questions on topic
• a list of popular or recent questions
• a single question and answer

 Then, choose the content type LibAnswers Widget and pick your widget from the drop-down menu.

Create a Survey in LibWizard and then embed the content in your guides.

To quote from Springshare:

If you are planning to add your survey to a Research Guides box, you will want to consider modifying its default height from 100% to a fixed height in pixels (e.g.400px). That's because an embedded survey with a 100% height will simply fill the height of its container. In this case, the container is the box on your guide. By default, this box doesn't have a defined height which can cause your survey to appear squished.

But if your survey has a defined height in pixels, it will display at that height on the page instead. (This is especially helpful if you have a longer survey that will require scrolling.)