The American Colonization Society was formed in 1816 with the aim of helping freed people to emigrate from the United States to Africa. While attempting to remain neutral during the abolition debate, the Society drew support and attacks from both pro- and anti-slavery factions.

From National Archives Record Group 75, these records consist of incoming and outgoing correspondence and special files on specific topics.

"Calendars" are digests of actions and papers from the monarch's council created by the Secretary of State. These abstracts can be quite detailed and, in some cases, reproduce documents in their entirety. The original documents are housed in the Public Record Office (PRO).

Collects correspondence from various U.S. consuls or ministers back to the Department of State. These series are derived from Record Group 59 (General Records of the Department of State). The documents describe the local economic and political situation, social conditions, and similar topics.

The Freedmen's Bureau (Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands) was established in March 1865 and was responsible for the welfare of newly freed citizens of the formerly Confederate states. It replaced and served as an office within the War Department. The Freedmen's Bureau documents, all from National Archives Record Group 105, provide detailed evidence from each southern state of the conditions of African Americans during the Reconstruction period.

Records of Louisiana, Arkansas, and Mississippi plantations from the 18th to the early 20th centuries.

Manuscript collections held by the Library of Congress. 23 presidents are represented in our collection.

This large commercial project sought to film plantation-related materials: diaries, letters, farm books, bills of sale, ledgers, and other records from various archives throughout the country. The University Libraries own Series J: Part 6 (Selections from the Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). These collections include papers from Gustavus Henry (Desha County)and James Trooper Armstrong (Jefferson County).

Includes: reports, investigations, legal decisions, regulations, and business contracts for the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole tribes.

New! These papers are now online in the database ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
Provides documents produced by and correspondence to and from SNCC offices, including information on the Mississippi Summer Project of 1964, Voter Education Projects, Freedom Schools, field reports from various state offices (including Arkansas) sit-ins and other direct actions, and more.

The Southern Tenant Farmer's Union (STFU) was a bi-racial union of sharecroppers, tenant farmers, and small landowners. These documents contain information on the crisis in intellectual labor from the worker's point of view. The deplorable condition of these farmers, the founding and history of the union and its struggle for recognition are covered. The supplement, The Green Rising, features the personal papers and records of four of farm labor's dynamic leaders.

The collection includes the proceedings of various conventions, the resulting constitutions, and supporting documents. The library has purchased only the Arkansas collection (covering 1836-1969).

Offers published works by on-the-scene observers such as "soldiers, journalists, foreigners, visitors, and innocent victims caught in the grip of war." First-hand accounts include diaries, memoirs, and travelogues and are not limited to descriptions of the Civil war but also include material on agriculture, transportation, household economy, and family life.
A sister set, "Travels in the Old South," covers primary sources from the colonial period until 1861.

This collection covers more than 7,000 titles assembled in cooperation with the Yale University Library and the Newberry Library on the exploration, settlement, and development of the Trans-Mississippi West. Geographically it covers from the Mexican borderlands to the Arctic; the Mississippi to the Pacific. Individual works are in OneSearch.