A collection of 1) core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics and 2) ebooks, images, and primary sources. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue.
Note that recent journal issues are not always available through JSTOR as some titles have a 3-5 year embargo on current years.
Many images in JSTOR were inherited from the former Artstor database.
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Combines biographical sketches and critical essays from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography (selections), Contemporary Literary Criticism (selections only), The Scribners Writers series and Twayne's World, English, and US Authors series.
Covers 1924/25- .Indexes citations to journal articles, books, book collections, book reviews, dissertations, conference proceedings, and other publications about the ancient Greek and Roman worlds. L'Annee is comprehensive in scope, indexing works in many languages. It covers literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, and all other aspects of the ancient Mediterranean.
Covers: mainly 1990s-. Combines biographical sketches and critical essays from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography (selections), Contemporary Literary Criticism (selections only), The Scribners Writers series and Twayne's World, English, and US Authors series.
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome
2v. New York: Scribners, 1982. Ref PA 3002 .A5 1982. Also online in Literature Resource Center. Long chapters on major authors with lengthy bibliographies.
Greek and Latin Authors: 800BC - AD1000
Grant, Michael. New York: Wilson, 1980. REF PA 31 G7. Useful plot summaries and suggestions for editions
Covering all aspects of mythology, this Companion includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), along with retellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures (such as the Descent to the Underworld, the Hero, Creation, Odysseus, Spider Woman, and Inanna), and related subjects (such as fairly tales and legends).
Cambridge History of Classical Literature
2v. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982‐85. Main PA 3502 .G73 and PA 6003 .L3. Narrative chapters by different scholars
Offers access to more than 250 volumes of the Cambridge Histories series published since 1960. Includes the Cambridge History of Classical Literature.
Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography
Forman, Robert J. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1989. Ref PA 3024 .F67. Lists and annotates English‐language books on specific plays
Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism
Gwinup, Thomas. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1982. Ref PA3001 .G9 1982. Lists primarily English‐language works on all authors
The Classical Epic: An Annotated Bibliography
Sienkewicz, Thomas J. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1991. Ref PA 3022 .E6 S55 1989. Lists and annotates English‐language books on specific epics, characters, themes, etc.
Try these searches in OneSearch:
