Provides access to more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes issues from the Arkansas Freeman (1869), the Arkansas Mansion (1883-1884), the Arkansas State Press (1941- 1959), and Homeland (Forrest City, 1991-1999).

Offers full text newspapers from locations such as Helena, AR, Wichita, KS, Springfield, MO, Nashville and Seattle. Because of the scarcity of surviving copies, may papers are represented by only a few issues or even one day. A companion to African American Newspapers Series I.

Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen, or search by keyword(s), author(s), article title, date ranges, and more. Includes illustrations and advertisements.

Covers: 1831-1865. Offers the full text of William Lloyd Garrison's weekly abolitionist newspaper.

Covers: 1827-1909, Includes the full text of titles such as Freedom's Journal, Frederick Douglass' Paper, and the Freedman's Record.