Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Chemical Prices

Sources for Chemical Pricing and Market Data

Finding prices for bulk chemicals has always been a challenge. Prices for bulk chemicals (e.g., 1 metric ton) are significantly different from finding laboratory chemical prices (i.e., one cannot just multiply 1 kg price found in a catalog by 1,000 and obtain a realistic price for a metric ton). In many cases, you may not be able to find a bulk chemical price for the chemical you want. With that said, there are a few places to search for bulk chemical pricing.

After trying the sources below, you might also try keyword searching of business databases like Business Source Complete .Some of the chemical industry trade literature can be searched in Nexis Uni ["Find Sources" along left column -> Industry (select Chemicals and uncheck everything else) -> click "Find Sources" button. Then select and search the full-text of one or more of the 27 publications listed]. Also see the Engineering Cost Data & Indices tab above.

ChemNavigator
You can register for a free account at ChemNavigator. If you request a quote, they can find availability, price, lead time and purity and find the best price available for the product.
ICIS Chemical Business (formerly Chemical Market Reporter)
A trade magazine for the chemical industry. Includes weekly pricing for approximately 12 major commodities ("Trends & Data" section), as well as a "Chemical Profile" for a particular chemical that focuses on supply/demand, prices, producers, and outlook. It is often easier to browse the print than search the online version. Print issues are located in Current Periodicals -- HD9650.1 .C486

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Presents "facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed."

Mining Information By Commodity
This website contains pricing information and news about 33 different mineral commodities.
Oil & Gas Journal
A trade magazine for the oil and gas industry. Includes weekly oil and gas prices, as well as production under the "Statistics" section. The "Statistics" section is only available in the print issues. Recent issues are only available electronically. Older issues are shelved in Mullins Library (TN860 .O4).
Sigma-Aldrich
This version provides chemical prices, usually in small amounts (in liters or milliliters, for example).
Trade DataWeb (United States International Trade Commission)
Primarily contains import/export data on commodities, but provides customs value per unit value based on aggregated data. There's a bit of a learning curve for this database, so don't hesitate to contact me.
USGS Mineral Commodity Statistics and Information
Includes Mineral Commodity Summaries, Minerals Yearbook, and Mineral Industrial Surveys. Primarily production data for minerals and metals, but also includes some related industrial chemicals.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) - Renewable & Alternative Fuels
This resource provides data on renewable energy consumption by source type, electric capacity and electricity generation from renewable sources, biomass and alternative fuels.