Research Guides: Sub-Saharan African History: Newspapers

African Newspapers

World Newspapers: Africa
Lists by country of current newspapers and popular magazines in Africa

World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers Series 1
Covers: 1800-1922. Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers. Features titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
Global Press Archive: East African Newspapers
Covers: 1943-2016. A growing collection of post-war papers, including The Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Global Press Archive: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Covers: 1870-2019. Provides newspaper coverage from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, including the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and more.
This database has a mix of open and subscription content

There are two main strategies for working with newspapers:

locating articles on specific topics
For this technique you will need a digitized, searchable version of the paper, usually accessed through a database
locating entire papers from specific places or time periods
Then you can browse the paper for local news and events.

Need additional guidance on how to find newspapers for your research? Use the Newspapers Research Guide linked below