StaffGuide: Aeon Information for Staff

This guide provides workflows for staff as they use Aeon in Special Collections.

Creating Manual Requests in the Staff Client

If a collection has been cataloged or processed, create the request Aeon request using Sierra or the ArchivesSpace PUI. If you are working with accessioned materials that have not been described online or need to create a request on behalf of a patron, create a request manually in the Aeon staff client that includes all required fields.

For manual requests, open the researcher account in the Aeon staff client and click on the new request button to create a manual request. The boxes below provide information on required fields for manual requests in different formats.

aeon screenshot: new request

Creating Manual Requests for Manuscripts in the Staff Client

The following fields are required for manual requests of manuscript materials:

  • Document Type: Select ManuscriptDefault from the dropdown
  • Title / Collection Title
    • Example: J. William Fulbright Papers Second Accession
    • Do not abbreviate
  • Call Number / MC / MS # / ID
    • Examples: MS F956 144-B; MC 1392
  • Component / Series / Subseries
    • This field is only required if it is necessary to identify the box requested. Examples include collections where numbering starts over in each series rather than running consecutively throughout the entire collection
  • Volume / Box
    • Example: Box 96
  • Item barcode, Delivery stop, and Offsite Location
    • These fields are only required if the container is stored at LINX

Example: A manually-requested container from an archival collection.

Creating Manual Requests for All Other Materials in the Staff Client

The following fields are required for manual requests of all materials that are not manuscript collections.

  • Document Type: Select Default from the dropdown
  • Title / Collection Title
    • Examples include the name of a folder in the vertical file, a volume from the Arkansas Collection that has not been reclassed and cataloged in Sierra, an uncataloged broadside, and an uncataloged map.
  • Call Number / MC / MS # / ID
    • These items will frequently not have a call number or will have a non-standard call number. Provide whatever information is available.
  • Item barcode, Delivery stop, and Offsite Location
    • These fields are only required if the container is stored at LINX

Example: A manually-created request for an uncataloged book in the Arkansas Collection.

Example: A manually-create request for a vertical file.