• If an accessioned top container is removed from its permanent home to a staff office or workspace, this activity should be tracked in Aeon.
• For processed materials, use the ArchivesSpace PUI to place requests. For cataloged published materials, use Sierra to place requests.
• If materials are unprocessed or uncataloged, staff may manually create requests in their web account or via the staff client.

Special Collections staff need two Aeon accounts:

1. A client account: this account provides access to the Aeon staff client and is created by the University of Arkansas Aeon administrator.
2. A researcher account: this account is created by the staff member on the Aeon web pages and is used for requesting materials for use in the course of the staff member's official duties.

If a staff member visits Special Collections off-duty to consult materials for activity that is not associated with a work assignment, the staff member should create a researcher account as a community member. Staff privileges should not be applied to community accounts.

There are three status options for staff Researcher Accounts in Aeon. The staff status is applied in the Aeon client, and it governs requesting limits and default LINX request types.

• Research Services Staff: status applied to staff with primary assignments in Research Services
  • No Aeon requesting limit
  • LINX requests default to PYR requests
    • To place a SHIP request with a Research Services staff account, manually route the request to Awaiting Retrieval from LINX for Staff
• Special Collections Staff: status assigned to all staff outside of Research Services in Special Collections
  • No Aeon requesting limit
  • LINX requests default to SHIP requests
    • To place a PYR request with a Special Collections staff account, manually route the request to Awaiting Retrieval from LINX for Staff for Patron
• Library Staff: status applied to Library staff outside of Special Collections who request Special Collections materials in the course of their official duties 
  • No Aeon requesting limit

To update the staff status, open the researcher profile in the Aeon staff client. Ensure that department is set to MULN, and select the appropriate staff status: UA Research Services, UA Special Collections Staff, or UA Library Staff.

All staff should have the request limit set to 0, which allows for unlimited requesting.

Types of staff accounts:

• Staff: Special Collections staff, Research Services staff
• Peripheral: Cataloging, Preservation
• Student/Intern: Work Study, Hourly, Interns

Creating staff accounts from the Staff Manager:

1. Open the staff manager and sign in using your Aeon credentials.
2. Click the New button at the top left of the window. 
3. Add the first part the user's email address (minus the @uark.edu) into the username field.
4. Create a temporary password and type it into the password and confirm password and click okay to save the changes. Make sure to write down the password. 
5. In the User Details section, add the staff person's name, and provide a brief description such as the person's department or reason for receiving a staff account. 
6. Assign a template to the staff person. 
   1. Special Collections staff should be assigned the Staff Template. User permissions should include:
      1. Can Customize Templates
      2. Can Export Data
      3. Can Access Addons
      4. Can Logon to Web as Patron
   2. Research Services staff should be assigned the Staff Template. User permissions should include:
      1. Can Customize Templates
      2. Can Export Data
      3. Can Access Addons
      4. Can Logon to Web as Patron
      5. *Research Service Coordinator Permissions: Customization Manager Access, Staff Manager Access
   3. Preservation and Cataloging staff should be assigned the Peripheral Staff Template. User permissions should include:
      1. Can Customize Templates
      2. Can Logon to Web as Patron
   4. Students and interns should be assigned the Student/Intern Template. User permissions should be limited to:
      1. Can Customize Templates
      2. Can Logon to Web as Patron
7. Click the save button at the top of the window to execute the changes. 
8. Share the username and password with the staff person. They may be prompted to reset the password when they log in for the first time.