A number of the tools described below - and more - can be found on this IGELU page
IGeLU is rapidly developing new tools for the Primo NDE (Next Discovery Experience). For instance, an evolving bookmarklet captures record ID, PNX, source record, and more. Because these tools are being developed, visit the bookmarkets page for therlatest information.
Use this URL parameter to view the rendered URL that a resource record is directing to.
Our openURL base is
https://onesearch.uark.edu/openurl/01UARK_INST/01UARK_INST:01UARK?
See the Alma/Primo Change log for details on origins and logos.
Occasionally our Primo points to a resource that really doesn't adequately address the user's need. Because there is a full-text service linked, Primo does not offer a request link to ILLiad. But you can create a link and give it to the patron.
Problems with the constructed link? Most likely it is missing the genre= value.
Alternately, you can create a citation in the Article Finder and copy and edit that openURL.
The Content Object (CTO) is the encoded metadata on a page that allows the openURL protocol to function.
Displaying the CTO for a Primo record will show which metadata values are being mapped to openURL fields such as genre or date, or even if those values are present at all.
View a full display for a Primo record and append &displayCTO=true to the URL.
OR
Create a bookmarklet in your browser for the CTO Display
If looking at a list of brief results, this tool will add a "CDI Activation Analysis" link, leading to an Ex Libris interface to run a check on your institutional holdings. The query will return details of the reason why the result is in your Primo results, including by CDI collections active for search and/or full text. Have patience: the results can be slow to load.
Create a bookmarklet in your browser for the tool.
javascript: (function() {
function callback() {
(function($) {
var jQuery = $;
javascript: (function() {
javascript: (function() {
var resultsSet = document.getElementsByTagName("prm-brief-result-container");
var pckey = window.appConfig['mapping-tables'].primo_central_institutions_unique_ids[0].source1;
for (var i = 0; i < resultsSet.length; i++) {
var id = resultsSet[i].querySelector("div[data-recordid]").getAttribute("data-recordid");
if (id.includes('cdi_')) {
resultsSet[i].insertAdjacentHTML("afterend", "<p style='position:relative;z-index:99;font-weight: normal;'><a href='#' onclick='window.open(\"https://cdi-rights-analysis.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/client/create?library=" + pckey + "&record_id=" + id + "\");return false;'>CDI Activation Analysis</a></p>");
}
}
})()
})()
})(jQuery.noConflict(true))
}
var s = document.createElement("script");
s.src = "https://code.jquery.com/jquery-3.7.1.min.js";
if (s.addEventListener) {
s.addEventListener("load", callback, false)
} else if (s.readyState) {
s.onreadystatechange = callback
}
document.body.appendChild(s);
})()
The Primo PNX (Primo Normalized Record) is the normalized XML record created from a number of MARC and non-Marc records in local repository and CDI.
Displaying the PNX allows you to see what data has been mapped to what field and why a record may have been retrieved in a search. It is most useful in working with CDI records.
When viewing a detailed record, append &showPnx=true to the end of the URL
Alternately, create a bookmarklet in your browser for the PNX tool:
Replace the DBID to view a list of CDI results from that electronic collection. Results look skimpy? Be sure to click the button to expand your results if we haven't activated this collection.
https://uark.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=groupeddbid,contains,J3O&vid=01UARK_INST:01UARK
https://uark-psb.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=groupeddbid,contains,J3O&vid=01UARK_INST:01UARK
A list of current GES (General Electronic Services) links and Display Logic Rules can be found in the Alma Change Log.
Tools for working with GES links
By default, Services display in alphabetical order. Admins can put some services in the "top" sort (such as direct subscriptions with providers) and some in the "bottom" sort (such as free or unreliable services).
Configuring Service Display Order requires General or Discovery Admin roles. The table should be examined quarterly to assure that it is up-to-date.
NOTE that there is a planned enhancement for 2026 to allow default sort for dates of coverage with current coverage on top. See https://ideas.exlibrisgroup.com/forums/308176-primo/suggestions/48881087-allow-online-services-order-to-sort-by-current-acc
Our system is currently set to prevent FRBRization of records but we do allow dedup.
We have also set the override setting to prevent display of CDI books if we already have portfoliios from the same electronic collection. This setting can cause other issues and is still being tested.
At times, records can be merged in problematic ways when the editions or dates do not probably align. We can select a set of records / criteria to prevent deduplication. When we process a group of records in this way, that information should be added to the change log.
To view a Primo page without CSS or JS customization, use the URL parameter &noCustomization=true
OR
Alternately, create a bookmarklet in your browser:
You can use Developer tools to Inspect a label to determine its code. This bookmarklet will allow you to see the codes without invoking the dev tools. When viewing a page in Primo, click the bookmarlet and then hover over the labels you wish to analyze.
javascript:(function(){const labels = document.querySelectorAll('[translate]');for (let i=0; i<labels.length; i++) {let label = labels[i];label.setAttribute('title', label.getAttribute('translate'));};})();