Research Guides: JOUR 49203 and AAST 49203 History of the Black Press: Searching for Newspapers

Journalism Selector

she, her

Email Me

Contact:

MULN 417

(479) 575-2962

Subjects: Academic Integrity, Citation Managers, Communication, Composition and Rhetoric, Dance, English and American Literature, English Language and Culture, Film and Television, General Reference, Journalism, Literature, Public Speaking, Style Manuals, Theatre

Finding Newspapers / Finding Newspaper Articles

There are two different strategies for working with newspapers:

locating articles on specific topics
Usually, for this technique you will need an index - or a digitized version of the paper - or a lot of patience.
locating entire papers from specific places or time periods
Then, you can browse the paper for local news and events.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is now found exclusively in the NewsBank database called America's News.This database includes the complete electronic editions of more than 1,500 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - Current and Historical
Covers: 1819-. Provides the full text of articles from the Arkansas Weekly Gazette and Arkansas Gazette (1819-1991), The Arkansas Democrat (1947-1991), the Northwest Arkansas Democrat Gazette, 2006-current, and the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Little Rock edition, 1992-current as well as related papers. Includes page images for some years.
America's News
New! Offers page images for current issues of many papers.
Covers: varies by title but mostly 1990s-. Offers full text of local, regional, and national U.S. news sources, including the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Includes both printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Browse by place of publication or search for keywords in stories.

Finding Newspapers - By Title

At the University Libraries

Use the Journal search tab in OneSearch for papers held in the University Libraries.

Some newspaper records can be quite complicated, as newspapers may have many title or publication changes. If in doubt, Ask Us!

OneSearch
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

At Other Libraries

For papers available from other libraries, try these sources:

Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries
This Library of Congress tool allows you to search by name, place or years of publication. Provides links to online newspapers digitized as part of the U.S. Newspapers Program. For print papers, you can request microfilm on Interlibrary Loan,

WorldCat Discovery
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
This database from the Center for Research Llbraries is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. Search by title, keyword, place, or years of publication.

Finding Newspapers - by Place of Publication

At the University Libraries

U.S. Papers, Including Arkansas

Search in OneSearch under place name as keyword, example
- United States [state] [county] [city]
- "United States Arkansas Benton Bentonville"
- Place quotes around the phrase for more exact searching
- Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

International Newspapers

Try OneSearch with place name and keyword newspapers, e.g.
- (london or britain) and newspapers
Be sure to LIMIT your search to Material Type = newspapers

OneSearch
Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

At Other Libraries

For newspapers outside our collections, try both printed and online catalogs. Once you have identified a paper, you can request to borrow microfilm on Interlibrary Loan.

United States Papers, Including Arkansas

Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries
This Library of Congress tool allows you to search by name, place or years of publication. Provides links to online newspapers digitized as part of the U.S. Newspapers Program. For print papers, you can request microfilm on Interlibrary Loan,

WorldCat Discovery
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Arkansas Union List of Newspapers
Call Number: Reference and other locations Z6952.A8 A75 1993

Publication Date: Fayetteville, Ark. : University Libraries, 1993

Lists newspapers held by libraries in Arkansas
Arkansas Newspapers: a Directory of Newspapers available in Arkansas Libraries by Brendel, Shirley
Call Number: Reference and other locations Z6952.A8 A74

Publication Date: Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, .1987.

Indexes papers by county and time period.

International Papers

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
This database from the Center for Research Llbraries is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. Search by title, keyword, place, or years of publication.

WorldCat Discovery
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Newspapers in Microform: Foreign Countries
Call Number: Z 6951 .U469 and online at the Library of Congress

Publication Date: Washington, Library of Congress: 1948-1983

Volumes 1-2 cover the United States by state and city and is largely superseded by the online Directory of U.S.Newspapers in American Libraries.
Volume 3 covers foreign countries alphabetically by country.
Lists newspapers reported as being held on microfilm by US libraries up until 1983. Very useful for browsing by place of publication.

Finding Newspapers - by Date of Publication

To Identify U.S. and Arkansas Papers by Date

You will then have to check OneSearch to see if we own those newspapers. Note that these tools may list titles not in our library.

Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries
This Library of Congress tool allows you to search by name, place or years of publication. Provides links to online newspapers digitized as part of the U.S. Newspapers Program. For print papers, you can request microfilm on Interlibrary Loan,

Arkansas Newspapers: a Directory of Newspapers available in Arkansas Libraries by Brendel, Shirley
Call Number: Reference and other locations Z6952.A8 A74

Publication Date: Fayetteville, AR: University Libraries, .1987.

Indexes papers by county and time period.
Chronological Tables of American Newspapers by Lathem, Edward Connery
Call Number: Library Annex Z6951 .L3

Publication Date: [Worcester, Mass.] American Antiquarian Society [c1972]

Provides tables of papers published 1680 -1820

To Identify International Newspapers by Date

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
This database from the Center for Research Llbraries is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. Search by title, keyword, place, or years of publication.