Analog Integrated Circuit Design by David A. Johns; Kenneth W. Martin; Tony Chan Carusone The 2nd Edition of Analog Integrated Circuit Design focuses on more coverage about several types of circuits that have increased in importance in the past decade. Furthermore, the text is enhanced with material on CMOS IC device modeling, updated processing layout and expanded coverage to reflect technical innovations. CMOS devices and circuits have more influence in this edition as well as a reduced amount of text on BiCMOS and bipolar information. New chapters include topics on frequency response of analog ICs and basic theory of feedback amplifiers.  

Bioinstrumentation by John Enderle This short book provides basic information about bioinstrumentation and electric circuit theory. Many biomedical instruments use a transducer or sensor to convert a signal created by the body into an electric signal. Our goal here is to develop expertise in electric circuit theory applied to bioinstrumentation. We begin with a description of variables used in circuit theory, charge, current, voltage, power and energy. Next, Kirchhoff's current and voltage laws are introduced, followed by resistance, simplifications of resistive circuits and voltage and current calculations. Circuit analysis techniques are then presented, followed by inductance and capacitance, and solutions of circuits using the differential equation method. Finally, the operational amplifier and time varying signals are introduced. This lecture is written for a student or researcher or engineer who has completed the first two years of an engineering program (i.e., 3 semesters of calculus and differential equations). A considerable effort has been made to develop the theory in a logical manner--developing special mathematical skills as needed. At the end of the short book is a wide selection of problems, ranging from simple to complex.

Electric Circuits by Mahmood Nahvi; Joseph A. Edminister This ideal review for your electrical engineering course, with coverage of circuit laws, analysis methods, circuit concepts, and more More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's Outlines for their expert knowledge and helpful solved problems. Written by renowned experts in their respective fields, Schaum's Outlines cover everything from math to science, nursing to language. The main feature for all these books is the solved problems. Step-by-step, authors walk readers through coming up with solutions to exercises in their topic of choice. Outline format facilitates quick and easy review of electrical engineering Hundreds of examples with explanations of electrical engineering concepts Exercises to help you test your mastery of electrical engineering Appropriate for the following courses: Electric Circuits, Electric Circuit Fundamentals, Electric Circuit Analysis, Linear Circuits and Systems, Circuit Theory Supports all the major textbooks for electrical engineering courses

Electricity and Magnetism by Gary Gladding; Mats Selen; Tim Steltzer

High Performance Integrated Circuit Design by Eby Friedman; Emre Salman The latest techniques for designing robust, high performance integrated circuits in nanoscale technologies Focusing on a new technological paradigm, this practical guide describes the interconnect-centric design methodologies that are now the major focus of nanoscale integrated circuits (ICs). High Performance IntegratedCircuit Design begins by discussing the dominant role of on-chip interconnects and provides an overview of technology scaling. The book goes on to cover data signaling, power management, synchronization, andsubstrate-aware design. Specific design constraints and methodologies unique to each type of interconnect are addressed. This comprehensive volume also explains the design of specialized circuits such as tapered buffers and repeaters for data signaling, voltage regulators for power management, and phase-locked loops for synchronization. This is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and engineers working in the area of high performance ICs. Coverage includes: Technology scaling Interconnect modeling and extraction Signal propagation and delay analysis Interconnect coupling noise Global signaling Power generation Power distribution networks CAD of power networks Techniques to reduce power supply noise Power dissipation Synchronization theory and tradeoffs Synchronous system characteristics On-chip clock generation and distribution Substrate noise in mixed-signal ICs Techniques to reduce substrate noise

Introduction to Electrical Engineering by Mulukutla S. Sarma Introduction to Electrical Engineering is ideal for courses that introduce non-electrical engineering majors to the language and principles of electrical engineering. This text discusses the underlying concepts and methods behind various electrical engineering applications--from consumer gadgets and biomedical electronics to sophisticated instrumentation systems, computers and electric machinery. Sarma highlights basic physical concepts while also emphasizing mathematical techniques, motivating students to learn the material in a logical sequence beginning with physical principles and extending to processes, modeling, using analytical techniques, and finally, designing. * Incorporates practical and open-ended case studies at the end of each chapter* Includes more than 1,000 end-of-chapter problems, a wealth of examples, and more than 1,500 illustrations* Offers comprehensive chapters on signal processing, control systems, and communication systems* Provides integrated coverage of MATLAB and SPICE * Adopts a modern focus on design and teamwork * Contains complete solutions to 20% of the end-of-chapter problems on the enclosed CD* Includes helpful appendixes on the FE examination; mathematical relations; solution of simultaneous equations; complex numbers; Fourier series; Laplace transforms; and more Contents:Each chapter ends with a Problems sectionList of Case Studies and Computer-Aided AnalysisPrefaceOverviewPart 1: Electrical Circuits1. Circuit Concepts2. Circuit Analysis Techniques3. Time-Dependent Circuit Analysis4. Three-Phase Circuits and Residential WiringPart 2: Electronic Analog and digital Systems5. Analog Building Blocks and Operational Amplifiers6. Digital Building Blocks and Computer Systems7. Semiconductor Devices8. Transistor Amplifiers9. Digital CircuitsPart 3: Energy Systems10. AC Power Systems11. Magnetic Circuits and Transformers12. Electromechanics13. Rotating MachinesPart 4: Information Systems14. Signal Processing15. Communication SystemsPart 5: Control Systems16. Basic Control SystemsAppendixesA. ReferencesB. Brief Review of Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) ExaminationC. Technical Terms, Units, Constants, and Conversion Factors for the SI SystemD. Mathematical RelationsE. Solution of Simultaneous EquationsF. Complex NumbersG. Fourier SeriesH. Laplace TransformsIndexAncillary material: * A CD-ROM is packaged with eachcopy of the text, including complete solutions for students to 20% of the text problems and a demonstration version of Electronics Workbench Multisim Version 6* Solutions Manual: 0195142608* An Instructor's CD-ROM containing Microsoft PowerPoint® Overheads that provide over 350 text figures and captions for classroom projection use: 0195144724 * Companion website: http://www.mssarma.org

Physics of Solar Cells by Jenny Nelson An introduction to the physics of the photovoltaic cell. It should appeal to undergraduate physicists, graduate students and researchers who want an introduction to the subject. The text covers the ground from the fundamental principles of semiconductor physics to the simple models used to describe solar cell operation. It presents theoretical approaches to efficient solar cell design as well as the features of the main practical types of solar cell. A set of exercises and worked solutions dealing with the text are included to aid in assimilation and teaching. It should enable the reader to understand how solar cells work, to be familiar with the terms and concepts of solar cell device physics, and to formulate and solve relevant physical problems.

Silicon solar cells : advanced principles & practice by Green, Martin A

Solar Cell Nanotechnology by Atul Tiwari (Editor); Rabah Boukherroub (Editor); Maheshwar Sharon (Editor) Focusing on the cutting-edge technologies available in the field of photovoltaics, Solar Cell Nanotechnology explores the latest research and development activities related to organic, inorganic, and hybrid materials being used in solar cell manufacturing. Several chapters are dedicated to explaining the fundamentals of photovoltaics and nanomaterials utilized in the manufacturing of solar cells. Other essential subjects, such as microcontact printing, plasmonic light trapping, outdoor and indoor efficiency, luminescent solar concentrators, and photon management in photovoltaics, are comprehensively reviewed. Written for a broad audience, this is an essential book for engineers, nanotechnologists, and materials scientists.

Solar Cells by Augustin McEvoy Enormous leaps forward in the efficiency and the economy of solar cells are being made at a furious pace. New materials and manufacturing processes have opened up new realms of possibility for the application of solar cells. Crystalline silicon cells are increasingly making way for thin film cells, which are spawning experimentation with third-generation high-efficiency multijunction cells, carbon-nanotube based cells, UV light for voltage enhancement, and the use of the infrared spectrum for night-time operation, to name only a few recent advances. This thoroughly updated new edition of Markvart and CastanerOCOs "Solar Cells," extracted from their industry standard "Practical Handbook of Photovoltaics," is the definitive reference covering the science and operation, materials and manufacture of solar cells. It is essential reading for engineers, installers, designers, and policy-makers who need to understand the science behind the solar cells of today, and tomorrow, in order to take solar energy to the next level. A thorough update to the definitive reference to solar cells, created by a cast of international experts from industry and academia to ensure the highest quality information from multiple perspectivesCovers the whole spectrum of solar cell information, from basic scientific background, to the latest advances in materials, to manufacturing issues, to testing and calibration.Case studies, practical examples and reports on the latest advances take the new edition of this amazing resource beyond a simple amalgamation of a vast amount of knowledge, into the realm of real world applications"

Thin Film Solar Cells by Vladimir Arkhipov (Editor); Jef Poortmans (Editor) Thin-film solar cells are either emerging or about to emerge from the research laboratory to become commercially available devices finding practical various applications. Currently no textbook outlining the basic theoretical background, methods of fabrication and applications currently exist. Thus, this book aims to present for the first time an in-depth overview of this topic covering a broad range of thin-film solar cell technologies including both organic and inorganic materials, presented in a systematic fashion, by the scientific leaders in the respective domains. It covers a broad range of related topics, from physical principles to design, fabrication, characterization, and applications of novel photovoltaic devices.