This is a small list of major physics journals and general interest science journals.
Off-campus access: If accessing journals from off-campus, you will be prompted for your UA username and password.
Topics and articles listed on this page are just a sampling of what's available. More articles may be found by searching the sampling of journals listed on the left side of the page. If you need assistance with a topic that's not listed here or need help finding more articles or books, don't hesitate to contact the Physics Library
Off-campus access: If accessing these articles from off-campus, you may be prompted for your UA username and password.
Click on a topic to jump directly to listings of articles and/or books for that topic.
Biomechanics of Sport
by
Cats Paws and Catapults
by
"Our human technology has emerged from ten thousand years of design, trial, and error. Nature's mechanical designs, the function of plants and animals are billions of years older. Both "technologies" share the same physical environment - the same materials, atmosphere, and temperature range - and both are subject to the same gravitational pull. But they've turned out to be wildly dissimilar." "Steven Vogel examines the many questions that arise from these differences. Cats' Paws and Catapults is about the ways living things work - and walk, run, jump, and fly - and how they grow. It introduces the reader to the field of biomechanics and explains how the nexus of physical law and historical accident determine the designs of both people and nature. It asks, in the end, how looking at nonhuman - natural - technology might enrich our understanding of what we do and have done."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Comparative Biomechanics
by
Why do you switch from walking to running at a specific speed? Why do tall trees rarely blow over in high winds? And why does a spore ejected into air at seventy miles per hour travel only a fraction of an inch? Comparative Biomechanics is the first and only textbook that takes a comprehensive look at the mechanical aspects of life--covering animals and plants, structure and movement, and solids and fluids. An ideal entry point into the ways living creatures interact with their immediate physical world, this revised and updated edition examines how the forms and activities of animals and plants reflect the materials available to nature, considers rules for fluid flow and structural design, and explores how organisms contend with environmental forces. Drawing on physics and mechanical engineering, Steven Vogel looks at how animals swim and fly, modes of terrestrial locomotion, organism responses to winds and water currents, circulatory and suspension-feeding systems, and the relationship between size and mechanical design. He also investigates links between the properties of biological materials--such as spider silk, jellyfish jelly, and muscle--and their structural and functional roles. Early chapters and appendices introduce relevant physical variables for quantification, and problem sets are provided at the end of each chapter. Comparative Biomechanics is useful for physical scientists and engineers seeking a guide to state-of-the-art biomechanics. For a wider audience, the textbook establishes the basic biological context for applied areas--including ergonomics, orthopedics, mechanical prosthetics, kinesiology, sports medicine, and biomimetics--and provides materials for exhibit designers at science museums. Problem sets at the ends of chapters Appendices cover basic background information Updated and expanded documentation and materials Revised figures and text Increased coverage of friction, viscoelastic materials, surface tension, diverse modes of locomotion, and biomimetics
Mechanics, Heat, and the Human Body
by
Physics of the Human Body
by
Physics of the Human Body
by
Richard P. McCall's fascinating book explains how basic concepts of physics apply to the fundamental activities and responses of the human body, a veritable physics laboratory. Blood pumping through our veins is a vital example of Poiseuille flow; the act of running requires friction to propel the runner forward; and the quality of our eyesight demonstrates how properties of light enable us to correct near- and far-sightedness. Each chapter discusses a fundamental physics concept and relates it to the anatomy and physiology of applicable parts of the body. Topics include motion, fluids and pressure, temperature and heat, speech and hearing, electrical behaviors, optics, biological effects of radiation, and drug concentrations. Clear and compelling, with a limited amount of math, McCall's descriptions allow readers of all levels to appreciate the physics of the human physique. Physics of the Human Body will help curious high school students, undergraduates with medical aspirations, and practicing medical professionals understand more about the underlying physics principles of the human body.
Research Methods in Biomechanics-2nd Edition
by
"Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition," demonstrates the range of available research techniques and how to best apply this knowledge to ensure valid data collection. In the highly technical field of biomechanics, research methods are frequently upgraded as the speed and sophistication of software and hardware technologies increase. With this in mind, the second edition includes up-to-date research methods and presents new information detailing advanced analytical tools for investigating human movement. Expanded into 14 chapters and reorganized into four parts, the improved second edition features more than 100 new pieces of art and illustrations and new chapters introducing the latest techniques and up-and-coming areas of research. Also included is access to biomechanics research software designed by C-Motion, Visual3D Educational Edition, which allows users to explore the full range of modeling capabilities of the professional Visual3D software in sample data files as well as display visualizations for other data sets. Additional enhancements in this edition include the following: - Special features called From the Scientific Literature highlight the ways in which biomechanical research techniques have been used in both classic and cutting-edge studies. - An overview, summary, and list of suggested readings in each chapter guide students and researchers through the content and on to further study. - Sample problems appear in select chapters, and answers are provided at the end of the text. - Appendixes contain mathematical and technical references and additional examples. - A glossary provides a reference for terminology associated with human movement studies. "Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition," assists readers in developing a comprehensive understanding of methods for quantifying human movement. Parts I and II of the text examine planar and three-dimensional kinematics and kinetics in research, issues of body segment parameters and forces, and energy, work, and power as they relate to analysis of two- and three-dimensional inverse dynamics. Two of the chapters have been extensively revised to reflect current research practices in biomechanics, in particular the widespread use of Visual3D software. Calculations from these two chapters are now located online with the supplemental software resource, making it easier for readers to grasp the progression of steps in the analysis. In part III, readers can explore the use of musculoskeletal models in analyzing human movement. This part also discusses electromyography, computer simulation, muscle modeling, and musculoskeletal modeling; it presents new information on MRI and ultrasound use in calculating muscle parameters. Part IV offers a revised chapter on additional analytical procedures, including signal processing techniques. Also included is a new chapter on movement analysis and dynamical systems, which focuses on how to assess and measure coordination and stability in changing movement patterns and the role of movement variability in health and disease. In addition, readers will find discussion of statistical tools useful for identifying the essential characteristics of any human movement. The second edition of "Research Methods in Biomechanics" explains the mathematics and data collection systems behind both simple and sophisticated biomechanics. Integrating software and text, Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists both beginning and experienced researchers in developing their methods for analyzing and quantifying human movement.
Click on the picture to go to HyperPhysics, an Internet resource with helpful information on various topics in Physics.
Also check out the books listed in the General Sports and Body Movement box.
Biomechanics of Distance Running
by
Biomechanics of Sport
by
Physics and Dance
by
A fascinating exploration of our reality through the eyes of a physicist and a dancer--and an engaging introduction to both disciplines From stepping out of our beds each morning to admiring the stars at night, we live in a world of motion, energy, space, and time. How do we understand the phenomena that shape our experience? How do we make sense of our physical realities? Two guides--a former member of New York City Ballet, Emily Coates, and a CERN particle physicist, Sarah Demers--show us how their respective disciplines can help us to understand both the quotidian and the deepest questions about the universe. Requiring no previous knowledge of dance or physics, this introduction covers the fundamentals while revealing how a dialogue between art and science can enrich our appreciation of both. Readers will come away with a broad cultural knowledge of Newtonian to quantum mechanics and classical to contemporary dance. Including problem sets and choreographic exercises to solidify understanding, this book will be of interest to anyone curious about physics or dance.
The Physics of Dance
by
Biomechanics of Sport
by
Gliding for Gold
by
As anyone from cold climates knows, living with lots of ice and snow can lead to a special appreciation of sports such as skiing, sledding, and skating. Prolific physics popularizer Mark Denny's take on winter athletics lays out the physical principles that govern glaciated game play. After discussing the physical properties of ice and snow and describing the physics behind sliding friction and aerodynamic drag, Denny applies these concepts to such sports as bobsledding, snowboarding, and curling. He explains why clap skates would only hinder hockey players, how a curling rock curls, the forces that control luge speed, and how steering differs from skiing to snowboarding. With characteristic accuracy and a touch of wit, Denny provides fans, competitors, and coaches with handy, applicable insights into the games they love. The separate section of technical notes offers an original and mathematically rigorous exploration of the key aspects of winter sports physics. A physics-driven exploration of sports played on ice and snow that is truly fun and informative, Gliding for Gold is the perfect primer for understanding the science behind cold weather athletics.
The Physics of Hockey
by
What do Wayne Gretzky and thermodynamics have in common? A lot more than you might think. The game the National Hockey League calls " the coolest game on earth" is also a fast-paced, dynamic display of physics in action. In The Physics of Hockey, physicist and amateur hockey player Alain Haché examines some of the physical principles behind the world's most popular winter team sport. What makes ice so slippery you can skate on it? How can you skate backwards most rapidly? How can physics improve your slapshot? Why do some collisions cause injuries but not others? How does a Zamboni work? And how do you prepare a pure, smooth ice surface in Dallas when it's 90 degrees outside and there are twenty thousand people inside? This is physics by a hockey fan for the hockey fan. Haché investigates the properties of the ice surface, the science of skating and of skates, the odds of winning and losing streaks, and the principles behind shooting, hitting, and goaltending. Touching on topics such as solid-state physics, statistical physics elasticity, probability, thermodynamics, and mechanics, Haché uses science to enhance our appreciation and understanding of the game. The book is illustrated with photos and graphs and punctuated with anecdotes to show how famous players, past and present, are really physicists on skates. A thought-provoking, fun, and gentle introduction to some basic issues in physics, The Physics of Hockey is a truly unique book worthy of the shelf of every hockey fan and physics enthusiast.
How Everything Works
by
A user's manual for our everyday world! "Whether a curious layperson, a trained physicist, or a beginning physics student, most everyone will find this book an interesting and enlightening read and will go away comforted in that the world is not so strange and inexplicable after all." --From the Foreword by Carl Wieman, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2001, and CASE/Carnegie US University Professor of the Year 2004 If you didn't know better, you might think the world was filled with magic--from the household appliances that make our lives easier to the CDs and DVDs that fill our world with sounds and images. Even a simple light bulb can seem mysterious when you stop to think about it. Now in How Everything Works, Louis Bloomfield explains the physics behind the ordinary objects and natural phenomena all around us, and unravels the mysteries of how things work. Inside, you'll find easy-to-understand answers to scores of fascinating questions, including: * How do microwave ovens cook food, and why does metal sometimes cause sparks in a microwave? * How does an iPod use numbers to represent music? * How do CDs and DVDs use light to convey information, and why are they so colorful? * How can a CT or MRI image show a cross-sectional view of a person without actually entering the body? * Why do golf balls have dimples? * How does a pitcher make a curveball curve and knuckleball jitter about in an erratic manner? * Why is the sun red at sunrise and sunset? * How does a fluorescent lamp produce visible light? You don't need a science or engineering background to understand How Everything Works, all you need is an active curiosity about the extraordinary world all around you.
Gliding for Gold
by
As anyone from cold climates knows, living with lots of ice and snow can lead to a special appreciation of sports such as skiing, sledding, and skating. Prolific physics popularizer Mark Denny's take on winter athletics lays out the physical principles that govern glaciated game play. After discussing the physical properties of ice and snow and describing the physics behind sliding friction and aerodynamic drag, Denny applies these concepts to such sports as bobsledding, snowboarding, and curling. He explains why clap skates would only hinder hockey players, how a curling rock curls, the forces that control luge speed, and how steering differs from skiing to snowboarding. With characteristic accuracy and a touch of wit, Denny provides fans, competitors, and coaches with handy, applicable insights into the games they love. The separate section of technical notes offers an original and mathematically rigorous exploration of the key aspects of winter sports physics. A physics-driven exploration of sports played on ice and snow that is truly fun and informative, Gliding for Gold is the perfect primer for understanding the science behind cold weather athletics.
The Physics of Skiing
by
Why are alpine skis designed differently from cross-country skis? Why will the ski clog up if the skier ignores the time-honored recipe of cold snow=hard wax, warm snow=soft wax? Covering the basics of snow, equipment, technique, safety, and more, the science behind skiing is made easily accessible to all skiers, whether they are downhill, cross-country, nordic, or even snowboarders. 75 illus.
Biomechanics of Sport
by
The Mathematics of Projectiles in Sport
by
The mathematical theory underlying many sporting activities is of considerable interest to both applied mathematicians and sporting enthusiasts alike. Here Professor de Mestre presents a rigorous account of the techniques applied to the motion of projectiles. This equips the reader for the final section of the book in which an enlightening collection of sporting applications is considered, ranging from the high jump to frisbees and soccer to table tennis. The presentation should be accessible to most undergraduate science students and provides an ideal setting for the development of mathematical modeling techniques.
The Science of Everything
by
"National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything. How does the voice of a distant radio announcer make it through your alarm clock in the morning? How does your gas stove work? How does the remote control open your garage door? What happens when you turn the key in the ignition? What do antibiotics really do? Divided into four big realms--Mechanics, Natural Forces, Materials & Chemistry, Biology & Medicine--The Science of Everything takes readers on a fascinating tour, using plain talk, colorful photography, instructive diagrams, and everyday examples to explain the science behind all the things we take for granted in our modern world."
The Flying Circus of Physics
by
Witness astounding feats of physics Hurry! Hurry! Come one, come all. Meet a man who can pull two railroad passenger cars with his teeth and a real-life human cannon ball. Come face to face with a dead rattlesnake that still bites. And unlock the secrets to the magician's bodiless head. Welcome to Jearl Walker's Flying Circus of Physics, 2nd Edition, where death-defying stunts, high-flying acrobatics, strange curiosities, and mind-bending illusions are all part of everyday life. You don't need a ticket; you only need to look to the world around you to uncover these fascinating feats of physics. Completely updated and expanded, this Second Edition of Jearl Walker's best-selling book features more than 700 thoroughly intriguing questions about relevant, fun, and completely real physical phenomena. Detailed explanations and references to outside sources guide your way through the problems. You'll discover answers to such questions as: * Can you start a fire with ice? * Why does the sky turn green just before a tornado? * Why do wintergreen LifeSavers glow in the dark when you bite them? * If you are falling in an elevator, should you try to jump up at the last second or lay flat against the floor? * How do electric eels produce their electric field? * Why is wet sand darker than dry sand? * What causes an oasis mirage? * Why do stars twinkle? * Could you drive a car on a ceiling?
Fundamentals of Physics (1997)
by
This popular book incorporates modern approaches to physics. It not only tells readers how physics works, it shows them. Applications have been enhanced to form a bridge between concepts and reasoning.
Fundamentals of Physics (2001)
by
No other book on the market today can match the success of Halliday, Resnick and Walker's Fundamentals of Physics! In a breezy, easy-to-understand style the book offers a solid understanding of fundamental physics concepts, and helps readers apply this conceptual understanding to quantitative problem solving. The extended edition provides coverage of developments in Physics in the last 100 years, including: Einstein and Relativity, Bohr and others and Quantum Theory, and the more recent theoretical developments like String Theory. This book offers a unique combination of authoritative content and stimulating applications.
