Research Guides: Children's Literature Collection: Curriculum Materials

This collection is located just south of the Children's Literature Collection on the second floor of Mullins Library. The purpose of this collection is to support the learning, research, and teaching needs of faculty and students within the College of Education and Health Professions. It provides access to a selection of educational resources that enhance course offerings over a variety of subjects.

Curriculum Materials

Clothesline Math by Chris Shore
Available online
This must-have resource provides the theoretical groundwork for teaching number sense. Authored by Chris Shore, this book empowers teachers with the pedagogy, lessons, and detailed instructions to help them implement Clothesline Math in K-12 classrooms. Detailed, useful tips for facilitating the ensuing mathematical discourse are also included. At the elementary level, the hands-on lessons cover important math topics including whole numbers, place value, fractions, order of operations, algebraic reasoning, variables, and more. Implement Clothesline Math at the secondary level and provide students with hands-on learning and activities that teach advanced math topics including geometry, algebra, statistics, trigonometry, and pre-calculus. Aligned to state and national standards, this helpful resource will get students excited about learning math as they engage in meaningful discourse.
Teaching Mathematics Today by Erin Lehmann
Available online
This second edition is a must-read for today's mathematics teachers offering research-based strategies and best practices that are critical and highly effective in mathematics instruction. This invaluable resource provides practical suggestions, resources, and templates to support the areas of classroom management, instructional planning, content and practice standard implementation, assessment, and differentiation, as well as methods to build students' conceptual understanding. It also guides teachers in using the Professional Learning Community model effectively in order to support professional growth and student achievement. With a focus on student thinking and learning, this book is an essential guide for all educators.
Mathematical Discourse by Barbara Blanke
Available online
This invaluable resource provides teachers with the tools they need to facilitate mathematical discourse and create opportunities for students to think constructively, communicate effectively, and increase mathematics proficiency. Authored by Barbara Blanke, this book will help teachers develop a new set of pedagogical skills and strategies to assess, plan, and organize their classrooms in a manner that is conducive to mathematical discourse. With helpful tips and strategies that are easy to implement, this standards-based book supports an equitable learning environment by encouraging active listening, clear communication, justification of perspective, and acknowledgement of students' experiences. Each chapter includes Culturally and Linguistically Responsive Teaching and Learning strategies to address cultural norms for diverse populations, and support the needs of English language learners. With tips for implementing Math Talks and Number Talks, this resource will get students thinking like mathematicians in no time.
Activities Linking Science with Math, 5-8 by John Eichinger
Available in the library (LB1585 .E362 2009)
Science does not exist in a vacuum and therefore shouldn't be taught that way. In that spirit, Activities Linking Science With Math, 5 - 8, is a hands-on guide for preservice and inservice elementary and middle school teachers who want to connect science instruction with other areas of study, including visual arts, social sciences, language arts, and especially math. The 20 discovery-based and academically rigorous activities provided in this volume enrich students' awareness of the world around them, encourage their natural curiosity, and promote the development of their problem-solving skills. The lessons, such as: "Studies in Symmetry," "The Tower Challenge," and "Determining the Size and Shape of the Blind Spot," are teacher friendly, requiring no advanced expertise in any subject area and using only inexpensive and easily accessible materials. Each includes a list of needed materials, a step-by-step procedure, discussion questions, and assessment techniques. Activities align with the latest US national standards for both science and math and cover topics from all scientific disciplines.
Activities Linking Science with Math, K-4 by John Eichinger
Available in the library (LB1585 .E36 2009)
The 20 discovery-based and academically rigorous activities provided in this volume enrich students' awareness of the world around them, encourage natural curiosity, and promote the development of problem-solving skills.

Uncovering Student Ideas in Primary Science, Volume 1 by Page Keeley
Available online and in the Library (LB1139.5.S35 K44 2013)
What ideas do young children bring to their science learning, and how does their thinking change as they engage in "science talk"? Find out using the 25 field-tested probes in the newest volume of Page Keeley's bestselling Uncovering Student Ideas in Science series, the first targeted to grades K-2.
More Picture-Perfect Science Lessons by Karen Rohrich Ansberry; Emily R. Morgan
Available online and in the Library (LB1585 .A57 2007)
Teachers raved when NSTA Press published Picture-Perfect Science Lessons in 2005. They loved its lively mix of kid-magnet books, Standards-based science content and ready-to-teach lessons. So what could be more perfect? More Picture-Perfect Science Lessons This volume offers 15 new lessons that combine picture books and inquiry to develop studentsOCO interest in science and reading."
Picture-Perfect Science Lessons by karen Ansberry
Available online and in the Library (LB1585 .A58 2010)
In this newly revised and expanded 2nd edition of Picture-Perfect Science Lessons, classroom veterans Karen Ansberry and Emily Morgan, who also coach teachers through nationwide workshops, offer time-crunched elementary educators comprehensive background notes to each chapter, new reading strategies, and show how to combine science and reading in a natural way with classroom-tested lessons in physical science, life science, and Earth and space science.
Picture Science by Carla Neumann-Hinds
Available in the library (LB1555 .N38 2007)
Make digital photography an important part of your early childhood program! Young children love to investigate the natural world, and they love to take photographs. Picture Science will help you go beyond just documenting class projects. It will show you how to use digital photography to make each step in the scientific process--from posing a question, to gathering data, to showing your findings--concrete and fun for children. Keyed throughout to early learning standards, Picture Science provides inspiring examples that will stimulate you to design your own lesson plans. Technical advice and tips for buying a camera for your center or family child care business are included as well. Picture Science won the prestigious 2007 Directors' Choice Award and Judges' Selection Award from Early Childhood News
Teaching the Nature of Science Through Process Skills by Randy L. Bell
Available in the library (B1585 .B32 2008)
With Teaching the Nature of Science through Process Skills, author and science educator Randy Bell uses process skills you'll recognize, such as inference and observation, to promote an understanding of the characteristics of science knowledge. His personal stories, taken from years of teaching, set the stage for a friendly narrative that illuminates these characteristics of scientific knowledge and provides step-by-step guidance for implementing inquiry activities that help children understand such important, yet abstract, concepts.
Teaching Science for Understanding in Elementary and Middle Schools by Wynne Harlen
Available in the library (LB1585 .H2985 2015)
Teaching Science for Understanding in Elementary and Middle Schools centers on how to build on the ideas your students already have to cultivate the thinking and skills necessary for developing an understanding of the scientific aspects of the world, including: helping students develop and use the skills of investigation drawing conclusions from data through analyzing, interpreting, and explaining creating classrooms that encourage students to explain and justify their thinking asking productive questions to support students' understanding. .
Extreme Science by M. Gail Jones; Amy R. Taylor; Michael R. Falvo
Available the library (LB1585 .J66 2009)
An understanding of scale and scaling effects is of central importance to a scientific understanding of the world. With Extreme Science, help middle and high school biology, Earth science, chemistry, physics, and math students develop quantitative evaluation. Comprehending scale at the largest and smallest levels is where a quantitative understanding of the world begins.
Nature Sparks by Aerial Cross
Available in the library (LB1585.3 .C75 2012)
Nature has monumental power on children's growth and development. Recent studies show that as children spend less time in nature, they miss out on the profound benefits that outdoor play and learning experiences provide. Nature Sparks is filled with inspiration and instruction to help educators and caregivers of children ages three to eight reclaim and strengthen connections to the outdoors.

Understanding Word Nuances, Level 2 by Timothy Rasinski; Melissa Cheesman Smith
Available online
Choosing appropriate words to express an idea is important to improve students' reading comprehension and writing composition skills. Vocabulary Ladders: Understanding Words Nuances provides second grade students with fun and engaging vocabulary activities to support word knowledge within reading and writing skills. This resource provides a framework to teach related words using a cluster approach that helps students learn many semantically related words at once. With this series, students will discuss differences between themed words, order words and explain their thinking, use words in context, and use words in writing.
Understanding Word Nuances, Level 3 by Timothy Rasinski; Melissa Cheesman Smith (As told to)
Available online
Choosing appropriate words to express an idea is important to improve students' reading comprehension and writing composition skills. Vocabulary Ladders: Understanding Words Nuances provides third grade students with fun and engaging vocabulary activities to support word knowledge within reading and writing skills. This resource provides a framework to teach related words using a cluster approach that helps students learn many semantically related words at once. With this series, students will discuss differences between themed words, order words and explain their thinking, use words in context, and use words in writing.
Understanding Word Nuances, Level 4 by Timothy Rasinski; Melissa Cheesman Smith (As told to)
Available online
Choosing appropriate words to express an idea is important to improve students' reading comprehension and writing composition skills. Vocabulary Ladders: Understanding Words Nuances provides fourth grade students with fun and engaging vocabulary activities to support word knowledge within reading and writing skills. This resource provides a framework to teach related words using a cluster approach that helps students learn many semantically related words at once. With this series, students will discuss differences between themed words, order words and explain their thinking, use words in context, and use words in writing.
Understanding Word Nuances, Level 6 by Timothy Rasinski; Melissa Cheesman Smith (As told to)
Available online
Choosing appropriate words to express an idea is important to improve students' reading comprehension and writing composition skills. Vocabulary Ladders: Understanding Words Nuances provides sixth grade students with fun and engaging vocabulary activities to support word knowledge within reading and writing skills. This resource provides a framework to teach related words using a cluster approach that helps students learn many semantically related words at once. With this series, students will discuss differences between themed words, order words and explain their thinking, use words in context, and use words in writing.
Vocabulary in a SNAP by Angela B. Peery
Available online
Elementary educators face crucial questions when shaping their vocabulary instruction-- what words to target and how to foster self-directed student learning. This innovative resource provides more than 100 research-based mini-lessons that help teachers efficiently shape instruction, each taking no more than 20 minutes of instructional time. Teachers can modify these flexible, effective templates to fit their curriculum and their students' needs.
Learning Words Inside and Out, Grades 1-6 by Nancy Frey; Douglas Fisher; Donna Ogle (Foreword by)
Available in the library (LB1574.5 .F78 2009)
During nonfiction read-aloud, the unfamiliar word manufacture comes up. Your unit on the solar system includes difficult new terms. In math time, kids need to know what an addend is. Learning Words Inside & Out helps you use moments like these to make word learning a part of all your lessons and to connect students to new vocabulary.
Vocabulary for the Common Core by Robert J. Marzano; Julia A. Simms
Available in the library (LB1574.5 .M388 2013)
The Common Core State Standards present unique demands on students' ability to learn vocabulary and teachers' ability to teach it. The authors address these challenges in this resource. Work toward the creation of a successful vocabulary program, guided by both academic and content-area terms taken directly from the mathematics and English language arts standards.

Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades K-5
Available online and in the library (LB1576 .C5785 2012)
The first books to present specific guidance for teaching the Common Core State Standards Forty-three states plus the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands have signed on to adopt the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). The need for curriculum guides to assist teachers in helping students meet these standards has become imperative. Created by teachers, for teachers, the research-based curriculum maps in this book present a comprehensive, coherent sequence of thematic units for teaching the skills outlined in the CCSS for English language arts in Grades K-5.
Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades 9-12 by Common Core Staff
Available online
The first books to present specific guidance for teaching the Common Core State Standards Forty-three states plus the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands have signed on to adopt the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). The need for curriculum guides to assist teachers in helping students meet these standards has become imperative. Created by teachers, for teachers, the research-based curriculum maps in this book present a comprehensive, coherent sequence of thematic units for teaching the skills outlined in the CCSS for English language arts in Grades 9-12. Teachers can use the maps to plan their year and craft their own more detailed lesson plans. Each grade is broken down into six units that include focus standards, suggested works, sample activities and assessments, lesson plans, and more The maps address every standard in the CCSS, yet are flexible and adaptable to accommodate diverse teaching styles Any teacher, school, or district that chooses to follow the Common Core maps can be confident that they are adhering to the standards.
Common Core Curriculum Maps by Common Core Staff
Available online
The first books to present specific guidance for teaching the Common Core State Standards Forty-three states plus D.C and the U.S. Virgin Islands have signed on to adopt the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). The need for curriculum guides to assist teachers in helping students meet these standards has become imperative. Created by teachers, for teachers, the research-based curriculum maps in this book present a comprehensive, coherent sequence of thematic units for teaching the skills outlined in the CCSS for English language arts in Grades 6-8. Each grade is broken down into six units that include focus standards, suggested works, sample activities and assessments, lesson plans, etc. Teachers can use the maps to plan their year and craft their own more detailed lesson plans The maps address every standard in the CCSS, yet are flexible and adaptable to accommodate diverse teaching styles Any teacher, school, or district that chooses to follow the Common Core maps can be confident that they are adhering to the standards.
Common Core English Language Arts in a PLC at Work®, Leader's Guide by Douglas Fisher; Nancy Frey
Available online
Professional development embedded within the PLC culture is vital to successfully implementing the Common Core State Standards. Integrate the CCSS for English language arts into your school's instruction, curriculum, assessment, and intervention practices with this straightforward resource. Using specific leader-driven examples and scenarios, discover the what and how of teaching so you can ensure students master the standards.
Common Core Standards for Elementary Grades 3-5 Math and English Language Arts by Amber Evenson; Monette McIver; Susan Ryan; Amitra Schwols; John Kendall (Editor)
Available online and in the library (QA135.6 .E85 2013)
Smart implementation of the Common Core State Standards requires both an overall understanding of the standards and a grasp of their implications for planning, teaching, and learning.
Common Core Standards for Elementary Grades K-2 Math and English Language Arts by Amber Evenson; Monette McIver; Susan Ryan; Amitra Schwols; John Kendall (Editor)
Available online and in the library (QA135.6 .E848 2013)
Smart implementation of the Common Core State Standards requires both an overall understanding of the standards and a grasp of their implications for planning, teaching, and learning.
Don't Forget to Write for the Elementary Grades by 826 National; Jennifer Traig (Editor); Dave Eggers (Foreword by)
Available online and in the library (LB1576 .D6345 2011)
Creative strategies for getting young students excited about writing Don't Forget to Write for the Elementary Grades offers 50 creative writing lesson plans from the imaginative and highly acclaimed 826 National writing labs.
Multisensory Teaching of Basic Language Skills Activity Book by Suzanne Carreker; Judith R. Birsh
Available in the library (LC4708.85 .C37 2019)
An essential companion to the bestselling textbook Multisensory Teaching of Basic Language Skills, this workbook gives current and future teachers the practice they need to use multisensory structured literacy approaches effectively with K "12 students who have dyslexia and other learning disabilities. Ideal for both preservice teacher education courses and in-service professional development, this updated activity book aligns with the new fourth edition of the Multisensory Teaching textbook, so readers can easily use them in tandem. With these easy-to-use activities that cover all the areas in the text, educators will reinforce what they learned, develop deep expertise in language and literacy instruction, and be fully prepared to plan lessons that boost their students' academic outcomes.

Research-Based Methods of Reading Instruction for English Language Learners, Grades K-4 by Sharon Vaughn; Sylvia Linan-Thompson
Available online and in the library (LB1525 .L657 2007)
What can we do to help ELL students understand English? In Research-Based Methods of Reading Instruction for English Language Learners, Grades K-4, Sylvia Linan-Thompson and Sharon Vaughn provide over 60 field-tested classroom lessons for ensuring English fluency among young nonnative speakers. Each chapter focuses on research and activities in one of the following areas: Phonemic awareness, Phonics and word study, Fluency, Vocabulary, Comprehension.
Collaborative Strategies for Teaching Reading Comprehension by Judi Moreillon
Available online and in the library (LB1050.45 .M667 2007)
Drawing on cutting edge research in instructional strategies, Moreillon, a veteran school library media specialist, offers a clear, rigorous roadmap to the task of teaching reading comprehension in a proven collaborative process.
Using Art to Teach Reading Comprehension Strategies by Jennifer Klein; Elizabeth Stuart
Available online
Using Art to Teach Reading Comprehension Strategies Lesson Plans for Teachers will provide both classroom and art teachers with an overview of six different reading strategies and integrated reading and art lessons that they can implement in their own classrooms and schools.
The Common Core by Maureen McLaughlin; Brenda J. Overturf
Available in the library (LB1576 .M29 2013)
This essential resource explains the key points of the CCSS reading standards, then aligns each Standard with appropriate research-based strategies and shows you how to use those strategies to teach your students.
Comprehension Skills - 40 Short Passages for Close Reading by Linda Beech
Available in the library (LB1573 .B4113 2912)
According to the Common Core State Standards, students should be able to read closely to determine what a text says explicitly, make logical references from it, and cite specific textual evidence to support conclusions drawn from the text. Each of the 40 short, nonfiction passages in this collection includes companion comprehension questions that target these critical reading skills and give students the repeated practice they need to build mastery in identifying main idea and details, using context clues, distinguishing between fact and opinion, and more!
Independent Reading in the Age of Common Core by Assunta Cannone-Calick; Elizabeth Henley
Available in the library (LB1573.7 .C36 2013)
A smart approach to independent reading in middle school that's perfectly aligned with the Common Core! Twenty-five step-by-step mini-lessons demonstrate key comprehension strategies; students are then responsible for applying these strategies to their independent reading and documenting their work with SmartNotes. These text-based notes provide accountability and open a window into students' thinking so teachers can identify and address their needs right away.
Every Child a Super Reader by Pam Allyn; Ernest Morrell
Available in the library (LB1050 .A45 2016)
When we take children's key strengths and immerse them in an intellectually invigorating, emotionally nurturing, literature-rich community, we grow "super readers"--avid readers who consume texts with passion, understanding, and a critical eye. Organized around the 7 Strengths inherent in super readers (belonging, curiosity, friendship, kindness, confidence, courage, and hope), this powerful resource helps children: Develop reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills, Learn comprehension strategies, Build a robust vocabulary, Deepen analytical prowess and an ability to talk and write about text, Develop empathy, a strong identity as a reader, and an expanded understanding of the world. Featuring stirring reading and writing lessons, robust assessment tools, ready-to-share Family Guides, and embedded videos that illuminate the 7 strengths and more, Every Child a Super Reader shows teachers, parents, caregivers, and out-of-school providers why reading is the ultimate super power, opening a world of possible for every student.

Using Art to Teach Reading Comprehension Strategies by Jennifer Klein; Elizabeth Stuart
Available online
Using Art to Teach Reading Comprehension Strategies Lesson Plans for Teachers will provide both classroom and art teachers with an overview of six different reading strategies and integrated reading and art lessons that they can implement in their own classrooms and schools.
The Language of Art by Ann Pelo
Available online and in the library (LB1139.5.A78 P45 2017)
Typical art resources for teachers offer discrete art activities, but these don't carry children or teachers into the practice of using the languages of art. This resource offers guidance for teachers to create space, time, and intentional processes for children's exploration and learning to use art for asking questions, offering insights, exploring hypotheses, and examining experiences from unfamiliar perspectives.
The Impact of Early Art Experiences on Literacy Development by Kathy Danko-McGhee; Ruslan Slutsky
Available in the library (LB1140.5.A7 D35 2007)
The role of the visual arts in literacy development -- Fostering literacy through early visual art experiences -- Graphic imagery that begins to convey meaning -- Detailed symbols as meaning makers -- Celebrating children's art and literacy experiences : final thoughts and connections
Growing Artists by Joan Bouza Koster
Available in the library (LB1139.5.A78 K67 2004)
Growing Artists introduces how young children from ages one to eight learn through the creation of art and how teachers can play a major role in fostering this learning through the art activities they offer and the way they communicate about art with children. This book delves deeply into how children acquire knowledge and the role art plays in allowing children to represent their developing ideas and knowledge through skillful manipulation of a wide range of art materials.

Breakthroughs by Karen Sewell
Available in the Library (LC4717.8 .S49 2008)
Teach a wide range of academic, life, and social skills in the context of a behavioral programBreakthrough is a hands-on, how-to program
Comprehensive Reading Inventory by E. Sutton Flynt; Robert B. Cooter; Kathleen Spencer Cooter
Available in the Library (LB1050.46 .C68 2007)
This is the only comprehensive reading inventory on the market to assess the "Big Five" components of reading instruction as identified by the National Reading Panel: phonemic awareness, phonics, vocabulary, fluency, and comprehension.
Differentiated Science Inquiry by Douglas J. Llewellyn
Available online and in the Library (LB1585 .L55 2011)
Ignite science learning with differentiated instruction Given that each child learns differently, it makes sense that one type of science instruction does not fit all. Best-selling author Douglas Llewellyn gives teachers standards-based strategies for differentiating inquiry-based science instruction to more effectively meet the needs of all students. This book takes the concept of inquiry-based science education to a deeper level with the author's unique model, including fresh ideas for engaging students and practical tools for differentiating inquiry instruction.
From Tutor Scrips to Talking Sticks by Paula Kluth; Sheila Danaher
Available in the Library (LB1031 .K48 2010)
Differentiated instruction engages students of all abilities as active learners, decision-makers, and problem-solvers, making educational experiences more meaningful for all. This one-of-a-kind book proves that designing differentiated instruction can be simple and fun.
Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom by Carol Ann Tomlinson; Marcia B. Imbeau
Available online and in the Library (LB1031 .T67 2010)
In Leading and Managing a Differentiated Classroom, Carol Ann Tomlinson and Marcia B. Imbeau tackle the issue of how to address student differences thoughtfully and proactively. The first half of the book focuses on what it means for a teacher to effectively lead a differentiated classroom. Readers will learn how to be more confident and effective leaders for and in student-focused and responsive classrooms.

Children's Literacy & Learning Bags

The bags are available in the Children's Literature Collection on the fourth floor of Mullins Library. Each bag contains books, toys, and learning activities on a specific theme.

Bags are available in three levels:

	Book Reading Level	Description
Red	Pre-readers	These backpacks contain materials for toddler and preschool aged children. Board books with colors and textures are emphasized along with gross motor skill activities.
Blue	Beginning readers to grade 2	These backpacks contain materials for early elementary aged children. The books in these bags are for children who are beginning to read up to a 2nd grade reading level. Materials include games, puzzles, and other learning activities.
Black	Grade 3 to grade 6	These backpacks contain materials for upper elementary aged children. Books included are at or above a third grade reading level. More complex learning activities, games, and puzzles are included.

Currently available bags:

Red

(toddlers)

Blue

(early elementary)

Black

(upper elementary)

Theme: Colors

Books

Black Bird, Yellow Sun
Colors
Green is a Chile Pepper
Blue Hat, Green Hat
Poke-a-Dot: First Colors

Learning Activities

Color sorting busy book pages
Jumbo counting and sorting bears
Stack and sort color board

Theme: Animals

Books

National Geographic's Weird But True: Animals
Stellaluna
In the Ocean
Cat Problems
Not Norma

Learning Activities

Ocean life puzzle
Animal tracks game
Toy animals with matching cards

Theme: Poetry

Books

Where the Sidewalk Ends
Change Sings
If it Rains Pancakes
Bow-Tie Pasta
National Geographic Book of Nature
Oxford Children's Rhyming Dictionary

Learning Activities

Write your own poems (composition notebook and pencils)
Haikubes
Storycubes

Theme: Seasons

Books

Very Hungry Caterpillar's First Summer and First Winter
Our Weather Touch and Feel Board Book
Do I Have to Wear a Coat?
Full STEAM Ahead: The Four Seasons

Learning Activities

22 piece HABA wood seasons puzzle
Weather balancing toy
Dress-for-the-weather felt doll set

Theme: Pizza Fractions

Books

Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
Pizza Day
Secret Pizza Party
Peg + Cat: Pizza Problem
Professor + Pollito: Fractions

Learning Activities

Magnetic pizza fractions toy
Draw your own pizza (paper plates and colored pencils)

Theme: Electricity

Books

Circuits
Find Out: Energy
Investigating Electricity
You Wouldn't Want to Live Without Electricity!

Learning Activities

Energy stick
Snap circuits exploration Kit
Magnetism and electricity poster

Theme: Vehicles

Books

First 100 Trucks and Things That Go
My First Trucks and Diggers
Little Blue Truck
Zoom, Zoom, Baby!
Busy Diggers

Learning Activities

Reusable vehicle stickers
Vehicle puzzles
Construction toy cars

Theme: Space

Books

Kit and Kaboodle Blast Off to Space
Hidden Figures
Planets
How to Catch a Star

Learning Activities

Constellation cards and craft
Solar system fidget toy
Mix and match magnetic space vehicles
Magnetic rocket ships build-it game

Theme: The Human Body

Books

Weird but True: The Human Body
The Skeletal and Muscular System
The Fantastic Body
Smithsonian: Human Body!

Learning Activities

Human body model/puzzle
Exercise and heart rate lab
Human x-rays

Theme: Senses

Books

The Five Senses: Hearing
The Five Senses: Taste
The Five Senses: Smell
The Five Senses: Sight
The Five Senses: Touch

Learning Activities

Five senses busy pages
Draw and smell Colored Pencils
Sensory Matching Tiles

Theme: Money

Books

I Spy Money
Using Money
What is Money?
A Dollar for Penny
Everything Money

Learning Activities

Money discovery can
Money flash cards
Counting money puzzles

Theme: Foods Around the World

Books

Alice Waters Cooks Up a Food Revolution
My Food, Your Food, Our Food
Dinner on Domingos
Fry Bread
Vamos! Let's Go Eat
Tomatoes for Neela

Learning Activities

Chopstick practicing with pompoms
Fill & Fold taco and tortilla play set
Draw your family dinner (paper plates and colored pencils)

Theme: Community Helpers

Books

Whose Hat is This?
Clothesline Clues to Jobs People Do
Helpers in Your Neighborhood
Hello! Hometown Heroes

Learning Activities

Doctor dress up coat
Community helpers puzzles
Community helpers coloring dolls
Toy community helper figures

Theme: Plants

Books

Du Iz Tak?
Seed to Plant
From Seed to Plant
How a Seed Grows

Learning Activities

Plants: magnetic activity tins
Flower garden building toys
Plant life cycle model figures

Theme: Reptiles

Books

Kecko the Gecko
Komodo Dragons
Ultimate Reptile-opedia
Everything You Need to Know about Snakes

Learning Activities

Reptile specimen kit
Reptiles coloring dolls
Turtle puzzle
Reptiles and amphibians game