Search library collections both print and online, connect to full text, request and renew, and save favorite items and searches.

Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

WorldCat.org is open to all to use.
Describes items published since about 1000 and owned by libraries around the world. Types of publications include: books, journals, maps, slides, computer data files, magazines, musical scores, sound recordings, computer programs, manuscripts, newspapers, videotapes, bibliographies, master's theses, doctoral dissertations, and software. Items not held by the University Libraries may often be requested on ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Use the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the search page of this database to search MLA AND this larger database simultaneously.

Covers: 1926-. Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA indexes journals and series published worldwide on all topics related to literature, language, folklore, and related areas, such as film, drama, communication, or popular culture.

Covers 1967-. Indexes books, articles, book chapters, and other publications on the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

A collection of 1) core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics and 2) ebooks, images, and primary sources. Most journals are digitized back to the first date of issue.
Note that recent journal issues are not always available through JSTOR as some titles have a 3-5 year embargo on current years.
Many images in JSTOR were inherited from the former Artstor database.

Covers: mainly 1990s-. Combines biographical sketches and critical essays from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography (selections), Contemporary Literary Criticism (selections only), The Scribners Writers series and Twayne's World, English, and US Authors series.

Covers: publications from 1930s- with selective coverage back to the 18th century.. Indexes articles in architectural and related design periodicals.

Covers 1906-. A collection of online journals in the humanities and social sciences. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and more. The Libraries do not have access to most Muse book content.

Covers: 1861- with comprehensive full text from 1997-. Provides citations to and full text of millions of works. It includes citations dissertations and theses back to the 18th century and full text for dissertations and theses from the 1990s to the present. See the More info link for exact coverage of UofA theses and dissertations in this database.
Dissertations that are not available for free download online can be borrowed free of charge via Interlibrary Loan.

Covers: items published 1920s-. Indexes and provides selected full text for a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Includes the Art Index Retrospective, in-depth indexing of nearly 600 journals and magazines published from 1929-1984.