Research Guides: AAST 10003: Introduction to African and African American Studies: Getting Started

Basic Reference Sources—Databases

These sources will provide information on topics, events, places, and persons. Articles will range in length from one or two paragraphs to dozens of pages. Many will give a bibliography of recommended books and articles for further research.

Credo Reference
Covers: 1980-.Offers the full text of reference sources in all disciplines. Users can search for specific words or concepts or browse by subject area. Special tools include a concept map that charts the occurrences of search and related terms across the collection and an image search. Topic pages covering people, places, events, or ideas pull together information from across several different reference sources.
Gale eBooks
A searchable library of electronic reference books.
Oxford Reference Online
Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The University Libraries subscribe to the "Premium" collection, which includes dictionaries, companions, thesauri, and handbooks on many different fields.

5 concurrent user limit.

Reference Sources—African Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a scholarly encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) are designed to guide researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. These authoritative research guides provide a starting point for your research or a working list for comprehensive or subject exams. Create a personal account to save references and add notes.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Covers: 3000 B.C.E. -. Provides signed articles drawn from key Oxford reference sources, including:
African American National Biography, Africana, an encyclopedia of the African and African American experience in five volumes, The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and Black Women in America.

1 concurrent user limit.
Cambridge Histories Online
Covers: volumes published since 1960. Offers the full text of volumes of the Cambridge Histories series covering the ancient to modern world.

What is Fake News?

Fake News, Alternative Facts, and Misinformation: Learning to Critically Evaluate Media Sources.
This is LibGuide from the Cornell University Libraries designed to help you evaluate news sources and information you encounter online.
"Fake News" LibGuide from Fordham University Libraries

Five Ways to Spot Fake News

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

"Evaluating Sources for Credibility." North Carolina State University Libraries, published on YouTube 9 June 2015, as found on the "Fake News" LibGuide published by the Fordham University Libraries.https://youtu.be/PLTOVoHbH5c.